You don’t sell this way? Do you?

A few years ago, I was shopping for a new vehicle, when I was approached by the sales consultant who I call “Zack the Hack”.

After identifying which vehicle I was interested (the one I was looking at) Zack proceeded to tell me all the features of the vehicle. He told me some things I knew about, a lot of things I didn’t know about and even some  frankly, I didn’t care about. 

Do you think he got the sale?

If you said no, you are correct.

Why not?

What did Zach do wrong?

Was it:

  1. Because he focused on the car, not me and my needs
  2. Because he didn’t ask any (or enough) questons to determine my needs
  3. Because he went straight to the presentation
  4. Because he told me the features of the car, instead of selling me the benefits of the car
  5. All of the above

 If you answered “5. All of the above” , give yourself a gold star and pat on the back.

When you are selling anything you need to focus on the customer and their needs, determine if your product or service will satisfy those needs and then effectively present your product’s benefits and features in a way linking them to your customer’s needs.

Unfortunately, Zack did none of that. And the result was NO SALE.

One thought on “You don’t sell this way? Do you?

Leave a Reply

