The Secret of how I became “The Sales Dating Guy”

I recently explained why I am called The Sales Dating guy in an answer to the following question on LinkedIN:

Business analogies. Do you use them?

Here is my answer:

Analogies are a great way to make complex material more digestible for your audience.

For instance, I use the analogy that Selling is like Dating and Customer Service is like Marriage in my Sales Training programs.

Using this analogy not only adds a lot of humour to the program, but it hooks the new sales concepts that I am teaching to something they already know (dating).

This increases retention of the knowledge which paves the way for a powerful (and fun) learning experience.

I would encourage you to continue to use analogies that make sense in your situation and with your audience in order to increase retention and help your audience “get” what you are communicating to them.

That explains why I use the analogy, but it doesn’t explain how I got the name “The Sales Dating Guy”.

That story includes a road trip and an enlighted experience with a powerful woman from Australia (who is not my wife) …. which I will save for a future blog.

If you want to find our more about how Sales Dating can help you and your organization increase sales, email me @ richard@richardelmes.com or phone me @ 519-820-6207.

 

Leave a Reply

