How to calm your pre-presentation jitters – Part 2

In my last post, I counted down the first 5 ways to train your butterflies to fly in formation. Here are the remaining 5 tips.

 

5. Turn nervousness into enthusiasm:

Athletes do this all the time. They turn that negative nervousness (which is really an adrenaline rush) into positive enthusiasm which drives them during first part of the game. And as presenters we can do the same, by thinking about it that way.

 

4. Realize that you are not alone:

Tell me honestly, when was the last time you went to hear a presentation and you said to yourself, gee, I hope they really suck. It is important to remember that your audience is pulling for your to be successful, so they can justify their own investment of time, money and energy.

 

3. Act as if:

I’m sure you have heard the old saying, “Fake it, until you make it.” Well here is a secret about speaking in public. If you fake being confident, your audience will not know. Their perception is that you are confident. Or in other words,

“If you are going after Moby Dick… take the tarter sauce.”

 

2. Visit the washroom:

I’m not kidding! The last thing you want while you are presenting is competing priorities or giving an effective message and having to go to pee. I do this everytime I deliver one of my keynote presentations, facilitate sales training or even attend a speech and I am glad I do.

 

1. Just do it!!!

The god of running shoes had this right. The presentation you give tomorrow will be that much better, because of the speech you delivered today. The more you present the more comfortable you will be on presenting. Or as Darren LaCroix http://www.humor411.com/ the 2001 World Champion of Public Speaking says, “The key to success in speaking is three things. Stagetime, Stagetime and Stagetime.”

Use these tips and I wish you success in your future presentations. If you need any help (or coaching), you can contact me at: http://www.richardelmes.com

 

One thought on “How to calm your pre-presentation jitters – Part 2

  1. wow great suggestions. I am a salesperson and I finally found a training approach that made me less nervous. There is a free v-book called If You Can Make Love, You Can Make Sales. The theory is that people by the same way they fall in love and that if you can be romantic, you can sell. Well, it is working for me. Get a free copy at http://www.sellingislikesex.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

