What is the one tip you have learned that has made the greatest difference in the impact of your presentation?

Jennifer Kahnweiler, who is a “workplace guru” who speaks to leaders and aspiring leaders on how to strengthen their people skills. http://www.aboutyouinc.com/ posed this question on LinkedIn:

What is the one tip you have learned that has made the greatest difference in the impact of your presentation?

Great question!!!

Here is my response:

Hi Jennifer,

What was the one tip that made the greatest difference in the impact on my presentations was when I realized that it is not about me and what I was going to get out of the experience. Instead it was about what I was giving to the audience.

When I shifted my focus from what I am doing or saying to what the audience is receiving, everything changed.

I was less nervous and more effective.

Now, when I am developing new material, I customize  it with that audience in mind.

When I deliver my material I am more focused on the audience than myself. I look into their eyes and look for the “light bulbs” to come on.

Overall I view my presentations as a gift to the audience. A gift
that will hopefully, help make their business and life more successful.

I hope this helps.

Making a difference,

Richard Elmes CSP
The Sales Dating Guy
www.RichardElmes.com

One thought on “What is the one tip you have learned that has made the greatest difference in the impact of your presentation?

  1. Hi Richard – I received an overwhelming number of great responses to this question. Your tip to focus on the audience was confirmed by many of the respondents. I think we have reached our “snooze” limit with Power Point and are moving towards more natural interactive presentations as well(what a relief!) I do believe we learn best by being involved. Another trend is that “less is more”..focus on the 3 or 4 major takeaways and give stories and concrete examples to back those up…Thanks for your comments. Here is to energizing presentations that move us to action!

    Like

Leave a Reply

