How to avoid getting old

I heard a great quote the other day from Poker legend Doyle Bronsen.

“We don’t stop playing because we get old. We get old because we stop playing.”

I defintately agree with this philosophy, because in business we tend to take our jobs and ourselves too seriously.

People say that they need to act “Corporate”.

Now just what does that mean?

Does it mean that we need to extract any ability to laugh and have fun during work hours?

If so, this would explain why so many people are trucking off to work every day in a daze. Zombies doing the same thing day in, day out. Leaving their personalities at home. Doesn’t that sound exciting… not.

Now I for one do take my craft and my business very seriously. But I tend to take myself very lightly.

I also believe that in my role as a leader and sales trainer, that I need to model this behaviour, so others will feel O.K. to laugh at themselves.

“I truly believe that a day without laughter is a tragedy.”

So lighten up and have more fun at work. Laugh and watch your productivity go up. Because laughter releases energy and energy improves productivity, reduces absenteeism, reduces employee turnover and according to Mr. Bronsen helps you live longer.

And in my book these are all good reasons to lighten up and play.

One thought on “How to avoid getting old

Leave a Reply

