The Power and Legacy of a Great Coaching

The crowd groaned as the first baseman squeezed the ball for the final out.

The final out of the game.

The final out of the season.

No, my 8 year old son’s team didn’t win his Jr. Rookie ball championship, but they will take away much more than a participant’s trophy.

The reason: Great Coaching

This season I have had the pleasure of watching, listening and learning from my son’s excellent coaching staff. I want to thank Darren , Carlo and Glen for all of their contributions and volunteering their time this season. 

However it was the performance by the Head Coach, Jim Deveau that really stood out for me.

Not only did he set the tone for the entire team, I believe his leadership skills and his character not only made it fun, but a valuable experience for the players and the parents.

So what is it that made Jim a great leader: 

He stressed fundamentals: The amount of time that he and the coaching staff invested in teaching those kids how to play baseball was impressive. I loved the way he broke down each component of the game down to its most basic level. This helped teach the players how to hit and field the ball properly. And he kept stressing the fundamentals all the way through the season.

He emphasized fair play: From the first email that we received until the final out of the season Jim not only emphasized fair play, but he modeled it (Even when some of the other team’s coaches didn’t). He also did a great job keeping excited parents in check so they would not yell at the 12 yr. old umpires when they made the wrong call.

He made it fun: Jim’s humour and wit are legendary. I remember making a comment to one of the other parents during one Friday night that I should have brought my dinner then I could have dinner and a show. Not only did he entertain the parents, but he also made it a fun experience for the kids. From the humorous ways he would explain things to the kids, to the organizing of the cheers on the bench. Jim realized that not only will kids pay attention and learn more when they are having fun, but that going to games was an experience that they will remember for a long time.

Which brings me to my final point.

Jim was not only teaching these 7 and 8 year olds lessons that will help them on the ball diamond, but lessons that will help them become better people in the future.

Stephen Covey the author of the book the 7 Habit of Highly Effective People and First Things First once said that we all strive to do 4 key things in our life.

“We all strive to Live, Learn, Love and Leave a Legacy. “

As a leader, I would encourage you to follow Jim’s lead because I can speak for me and my family when I say that Jim Deveau’s legacy of great coaching left a positive impact on us.

Great job Jim!!!

Leave a Reply

