The 7+ Habits of Highly Effective Husbands- Habit #4: Never Stop Selling

In my work as a Sales Trainer, I am known at “The Sales Dating Guy”  http://www.RichardElmes.com because when I teach Selling Skills, I use the analogy that Selling is like Dating and Customer Service is like a Marriage.

I also teach a Professional Selling class at Conestoga College http://www.conestogac.on.ca .

One day one of my students asked me this question,

“You don’t have to keep selling after you get married… do you?”

My response was, “Only if you want to … stay married.”

Now stats show that almost half of marriage end just after the first year. And I believe this is due to the fact that after they say, “I do”, many husbands believe their work is done.

They don’t realize that marriage is extremely hard work. You have to keep selling yourself to your spouse over and over and over.

You can think of it this way… Your relationship is like a bank account.

In order to get anything out of it (or make withdrawals) you need to first make deposits. Lots of deposits. Big deposits, little deposits, not just once, but almost continuously.

Because when you have a positive balance… life will be good. When you are overdrawn… not so much.

So remember Habit #4 and Never Stop Selling.

Check back next time to find out how to make bigger deposits with less work. This will be revealed in Habit #5.

Leave a Reply

