The Secret behind Apple’s I-Buzz for the new I-Pad

I have been reading the news today about Apple http://www.apple.com/ launching the its latest I-product the Apple I-Pad.  In fact there was quite a buzz about what this new product was, how it will work and when we can get one.

This Marketing I-buzz was created partially by Apple’s branding of creating new and cool products. (I-Pod, I-Tunes, I-Phone) But is has also been fueled by Apple trying to keep the information hush, hush. The more they tried to keep it a secret, the bigger the buzz became. This secrecy creates controversey. And controversey gets people’s attention. But not only does it get people’s attention, but it gets them talking and all that talking is free publicity for Apple.

I have experienced this phenomenon first hand.

I am a huge hockey fan. And a few months ago I posted a 6 second video on YouTube of  a brutal hockey hit by the Erie Otters’ Mike Liambas on the Kitchener Rangers defenceman Ben Fanelli.  

This video has been viewed over 410,000 times.

I have also posted a video of an amazing goal scored by Guelph Hurricanes goalie Drew Pegrum.

It only received 3500 views.

What’s was the difference.

Why did the one video go viral and receive over 100 times the number of views than the other.

The answer in one word: Controversey

The video of  the goalie scoring drew some curiosity, but the video of the brutal hit drew plenty of discussion. Discussion on whether it was a clean hit. Discussion on whether Ben Fanelli would be O.K. Discussion on what the suspension for Michael Liambas should be and whether the penalty handed out was fair.

So think about how you can get people talking about your products or services by creating controversey.

One more key suggestion: Make sure the subject people are talking about is not whether your product is good or not. Otherwise the marketing buzz will have a negative effect on your sales.

* Oh by the way did you notice the one small detail in this article that I created that wasn’t quite accurate. Or was it. You will have to read the article again to find it.

One thought on “The Secret behind Apple’s I-Buzz for the new I-Pad

Leave a Reply

