Risk vs Reward

It felt like my heart was going to beat out of my chest as I grasped the magnitude of what I was about to do.

My knees shook so bad that it was actually a relief when I went down on one knee.

And my voice trembled and I barely got out the words of the most important speech of my life.

Fear is a very powerful emotion that can sometimes prevent us from being harmed. But it can also prevent us from achieving great things.

proposal

“There are those who SEE an opportunity. And then there are those who SEIZE an opportunity.” – Joanie Warren

Thankfully, that night 25 years ago,  I was able to recognize that the reward of enjoying my life with the woman of my dreams was worth the risk of possibly being rejected. That risk-reward analysis allowed me to seized the opportunity to ask her to marry me.

And what did she say?

After a huge hug and many tears (of joy) she was finally able to get out the word, “YES”.

And 25 years later, I can happily report that that decision was definitely worth it!

So next time you have to make a key decision, do a Risk-Reward analysis and if you decide that it is worth the risk, push through the fear, seize that opportunity and enjoy the reward.

*This post is dedicated to my beautiful wife April, and to Patricia and Dave Heather who have been two of the best role models we could have who are also celebrating their 51st wedding anniversary today.*

Leave a Reply

